Jan. 8th Sunday Sampler + Topaz Corner + More!

SUNDAY SAMPLER

This week’s Sampler consists of botanical textures from the Albuquerque BioPark. Nature provides us with some awesome textures – Enjoy! And don’t forget to share you creations in our Facebook Group “Textures: Turn Ho-Hum into a Work of Art”.

 

52-WEEK PHOTOGRAPHY PROJECT

I had posted this article a couple of times to get you excited for a new challenge this year! 52 PHOTOGRAPHY PROJECTS in 2017 will challenge your photographic abilities and get you to try things you may not have thought about! Even if you cannot follow the project exactly, feel free to put your own spin on it!

And join our Facebook Group “2017 Photo Project a Week” and share your results: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1311524515525331/ or if you are not on Facebook, you can email your images to me at Hazel@MeredithImages.com and, with your permission, I will share some here in our weekly blog post.

This week’s topic is “Water Splash Photography”. Here’s an article that will give you some details on how to achieve the effect.

 

topaz-corner

In this first installment of my monthly column “Topaz Corner”, I will answer a question that is asked often. “What is the best order to use Topaz products in your workflow?”

When I am editing a photo, I do my basic adjustments in Lightroom, then bring the image into Photoshop to do the creative work. The Topaz products used depend on the “look” I envision for the image (and that often changes while trying things out). But typically I will use the products that are more “corrective” – like InFocus or DeNoise before moving to the photographic effects like B&W Effects, ReStyle, Adjust or Lens Effects.

Then I move to the more creative products like Simplify, Impression, Glow or Texture Effects. Typically my last step is using Detail for my final “sharpening” (I love Detail much more than unsharp mask or even the high pass filter which I used for years).

Topaz actually addressed this issue in a blog post back in 2014 when they only had 14 products. But it’s still a good reference diagram.

 

SHORT SURVEY

If you would like to help guide future posts, courses and store offerings, please take just a few minutes to take my online survey: 2017 SURVEYIt’s just 10 questions – I promise it won’t take long! I will close it out on Jan. 14th. A big THANK YOU to those who have already replied!

 

ONLINE FREEBIES

Creative Beacon had a post listing 20 Useful Free Photoshop BrushesIt includes everything from fur to grunge to smoke (P.S. you could use the smoke ones to create an image in Week 3 of the 52 Week Challenge!). These are 20 SETS of brushes – not just 20 brushes – so check em out!

 

Leave a Reply

